Mass Casualty Incident (MCI) Drill

So last week I debuted my fantastic acting skills during the Mass Casualty Incident (MCI) training that was held in the early morning. I played the part of an unconscious victim with a sucking chest wound, Kimmy was a victim with an internal head injury, Bill had a femur fracture, and Stephan just had a sprained wrist and ankle. We also had a dummy, which did a phenomenal job starring as a guy who got his head crushed by a chain hoist. The scenario: Some idiot driving a forklift knocked a bunch of stuff over in the Cryo building and it collapsed on top of all of us!

The Cryo Building — scene of the MCI.

The Cryo Building — scene of the MCI.

Inside Cryo, Bill there in the foreground is pretending to have a broken leg, while I'm somewhere near the door with Stephan and the dummy.

Inside Cryo, Bill there in the foreground is pretending to have a broken leg, while I’m lying somewhere near the door with Stephan and the dummy. Kimmy was standing up and wandering around talking in cantonese. 

This was really interesting to be a part of. I was amazed at how fast people responded to the scene, and how fast they got me onto a stretcher, back to the elevated station and into “Club Med.” It was also a challenge to pretend to be unconscious when there was so much going on.

Me, the unconscious victim!! Being put onto a board in this picture.

Me, the unconscious victim!! Being put onto a board in this picture.

My amazing rescuers carrying me out of Cryo on a stretcher/board to be put in the back of the van and driven off to the main station.

My amazing rescuers carrying me out of Cryo on a stretcher/board to be put in the back of the van and driven off to the main station.

Good work ERT teams! I’m glad to have all of you around!

Leave a Reply

