Queenstown: Day 1

My first full day in Queenstown! What to do?! In the morning I joined up with another girl from my hostel, and together we hiked up Queenstown Hill. The lady at the front desk had told us this was the more gradient, easier hike to do. Um, yikes! It was pretty steep by my own personal standards, but overall not a terribly hard hike with a return time of about 2.5 hours for us. We struggled to the top through some sketchy-looking woods and were rewarded with a lovely view at least.

Sketchy Queenstown Hill forest. Also lots of little red mushrooms that look like something out of Alice in Wonderland.

Sketchy Queenstown Hill forest. Also lots of little red mushrooms that look like something out of Alice in Wonderland.

View from the top! That's Queenstown down below and Lake Wakatipu.

View from the top! That’s Queenstown down below and Lake Wakatipu.

After a lunch of empanadas (From The Empanada Kitchen—http://www.theempanadakitchen.com/) I walked around finding lovely views of Queenstown and enjoying the warm sunshine on the lakefront.

Gorgeous view of the Queenstown waterfront area. I definitely managed to get sunburnt while sitting out here admiring the beautiful scenery.

Gorgeous view of the Queenstown waterfront area. I definitely managed to get sunburnt while sitting out here admiring the beautiful scenery.

A statue of William Gilbert Rees, an adventurer who was the founder of Queenstown and one of the first settlers of the Wakatipu Basin. And, obviously, a sheep. (This is New Zealand after all...)

A statue of William Gilbert Rees, an adventurer who was the founder of Queenstown and one of the first settlers of the Wakatipu Basin. And, obviously, a sheep. (This is New Zealand after all…) 

Then my buddy Sean from the South Pole was in town for the night! I enjoyed having a familiar face around for the first time in a few days. In this short time already I’ve discovered that I strongly dislike doing things alone. Normally it isn’t hard to make friends in hostels and at bars and such, but many travelers at this hostel have been cliquey and uninviting. Am I just in the wrong place?

Anyway… Sean and I had dinner at the infamous Fergburger, that at dinnertime has a line that wraps around the block. When we arrived the line was only half a block long, and that was just to order. After 15 minutes of waiting we decided to get ice cream from Mrs. Ferg’s Gelateria next door, because we were starving and still had 45 minutes to wait in line to order. When we finally ordered our food we had to wait another 30ish minutes for our burgers and fries and onion rings to be prepared!! When at last we had our dinner, we were definitely not disappointed. I got the “Bun Laden” which was basically a falafel burger. The aioli sauce they gave us to go with the onion rings kind of made me feel like I was going to have a heart attack. Yum yum.

Don’t know if I’ll ever wait in line that long for a burger ever again, though.

Fergburger, after 45 minutes in line we were almost there!

Fergburger, after 45 minutes in line we could almost order!

After an hour and a half we finally had our food! Pretty good, although Devil Burger to me is pretty much the same and I only wait for 15 minutes, tops.

After an hour and a half we finally had our food! All the packaging has, “Ferg Loves You,” written on it. The burgers were pretty good, although Devil Burger to me is pretty much the same and I only wait for 15 minutes, tops.

One thought on “Queenstown: Day 1

  1. Maddy: you are not alone. There are a lot of people reading Mad Adventures and forwarding it along. My brothers for example as well as their families back in Pittsburgh. People are sharing your adventures vicariously. Your a hero to me and many others. Lov Papa

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

