Wellington Wanderings

Leaving the South Island behind, I jumped on the Interislander Ferry and sailed off to “Windy Wellington.” There I stayed in the cozy flat of my friends Keri and Alex—not a hostel! Yay! Feeling a bit burnt out on taking tours, I wandered the city on my own and based loosely on recommendations from the Lonely Planet New Zealand guide. On the first day I found an outdoor market with food trucks next to the Te Papa museum and ate lunch next to the beautiful Wellington harbor.

DSC00096

I have such a fascination with street art everywhere I go. While walking around and shopping on Cuba Street I noticed lots of different works and started snapping pictures. I absolutely love BMD – an Australian/New Zealand duo. I’ve seen their work in Christchurch and now Wellington, and I wonder if they’ve got any in Auckland!

DSC00138

Artist? Unknown.

Later on I hiked up Mt Victoria for some spectacular panoramic views of the city and harbor, then wandered downhill to the Oriental Parade where there were tons of people hanging out on the beach by the water. 

As for dining options there’s an enormous selection and you can rarely go wrong. We went out for Malaysian food my first night there, and followed that with drinks at ‘Golding’s Free Dive’ and ‘Beach Babylon’—two pretty sweet, laid-back bars. As a solo traveler I rarely partake in much of the nightlife, so it was fun to finally have a friend to go out with. (Thanks Alex!) One thing that’s awesome in New Zealand: you can often get tastes of beer on tap before you buy a pint! Being the indecisive person that I am, this was an incredible discovery. Also, Wellington has an enormous microbrewery/craft beer scene, and there is always something new to taste. 

A view of downtown.

A view of downtown.

Leave a Reply

